There has apparently been a change in the way Etsy admin handles forum posts by deleted users. These posts are themselves disappearing, with no sort of placeholder ("post deleted," "user no longer exists," etc.) left in that spot. Because this removes some important context, in the case of a sock puppet starting a thread, this has the unfortunate effect of making it look like someone else started it.
This probably isn't any big deal - or, I'm sure Etsy admin don't think it is, since locked threads are no longer searchable. But they're still able to be linked to, and I've been reading them via ClosedThreads and was getting a very wrong, very bad impression of some innocent Etsy users.
Although it is nice that Admin may now be using their ability to get rid of malicious posts, it is a bit upsetting that those who responded to the ugly may now be splattered with it once the offender is shuffled out of the way.